Not Expecting the Unexpected

The day before having Dillon, I had an image in my mind of what life might possibly be like. Children’s Hospital was going to be my second home and I was ready to accept that. A wheelchair being a big part of our lives was a very real possibility, and I thought, “Big deal, bring it.” I pictured Dillon having numerous surgeries, but I was going to be there for him through it all and we were going to come out on the other side, better, stronger. In my mind, developmental delays were frolicking in the dark horizon, but I knew that no matter how difficult it got, God would never leave us, and that gave me peace.

Expectations are a funny thing. You can expect all you want, but God always has a plan and it’s not always what you expect, but it is always something He will never leave your side throughout. If I learned anything from this experience, it is that you should never expect the worst, and definitely do not throw in the towel, because sometimes the best things can come out of something that appears to be a crappy situation. I’ll never forget the person who always quoted Romans 8:28 to me. That verse speaks volumes and is such an inspiration. It is as if to say that things may get rough, you may feel like giving up, or running away, but as long as you hold on to that peace God is trying to instill in your brain, as long as you love Him with everything you have, then everything will work out exactly the way it is supposed to. So do not give up! Because you could end up with..

 

A cutie pie who takes better selfies than his mommy.

A cutie pie who takes better selfies than his mommy.

A protector of the universe.

A protector of the universe.

A daredevil who gives no cares.

A daredevil who gives no cares.

A tough guy who manages to smile even when he's in a hospital bed.

A tough guy who manages to smile even when he’s in a hospital bed.

The cutest maid money can't buy.

The cutest maid money can’t buy.

A comedian.. I don't really know what's going on in this picture.

A comedian.. I don’t really know what’s going on in this picture.

A super cuddly cuddle bug.

And a super cuddly cuddle bug 🙂

Needles to say, Dillon exceeded my expectations. He walks, he runs, he speaks in full sentences, but all those things aside, there is a light in him that is in every child, a light that shines and lets the world know that they are a gift from God. Do not ever forget that your child is a light in this dimly-lit world and do everything you can to keep society from stealing that light. Maybe you have a kid who is a little different, but thank God, there is nothing more beautiful than diversity.

Leave a Reply

