A Little Update

I know it has been so long since I’ve blogged, and it’s not that I do a lot or that I’m busy, it’s just that I find myself having a lot to do.

I just started Dillon on solids the weekend before last. He doesn’t really seem to enjoy it, unless it’s fruit. Bananas were his first food, because that’s what we had on hand, and this was a spontaneous event. I wasn’t even planning on giving him solids until this week, but I was overly excited and figured he would be too. I mashed up a banana and mixed it with breast milk.. he loved it.

20130806-102111.jpg

He looks confused in this picture, but I assure you he loved those mashed bananas.

Then I read online that bananas cause constipation in babies. It’s not a big deal to most people. So far, Dillon has no problem in that area, but for a person with spina bifida, constipation is a big concern for obvious reasons and for reasons that I don’t want to get into, too personal. Google is your friend if you want to gain some knowledge on the matter.

If this weren’t an issue, I’d be one of those horrible mothers (sarcasm) who feeds her 6-month-old mashed macaroni and cheese from her plate.

I realize he’s going to want to eat those foods eventually, but I am doing my best to delay any unsettling interventions.

He had prunes the next day. Or his face did anyway, I'm not sure if any of it actually went into his mouth.

He had prunes the next day. Or his face did anyway, I’m not sure if any of it actually went into his mouth.

It’s been an adventure with the solids. I had the pleasure of enjoying the feed/sneeze combo the other day. Food was in my hair and even in his hair, it was a perfect movie moment. I also started him on formula a couple of days ago, ugh, I’m a bit depressed, but I also feel FREE. Breast milk really is the best way to go, formula is just gross and expensive.

20130806-102310.jpg

“This is a lot tastier than it looks, mom.”

He does this a lot, and believe it or not, even though he is holding on to his leg with his hands, he can hold it up there without using his hands. He can hold his legs up and he can extend them out. He likes to kick people, he thinks it’s funny, I think it’s kind of funny too. He can bear weight on his legs, but he can’t stand, well, he can for about a second, but then he bends his knees. I don’t know if it’s just because he doesn’t want to stand, or if he just can’t. Correct me if I’m wrong, but I think they are supposed to be able to bear all of their weight on their legs by this age. Anyway, I’m not too concerned, however, I will be getting in touch with physical therapy at his next appointment.

I’ve noticed that he moves everything, it’s just that his muscles seem a little weak. He can’t sit up yet, but we’re working on it. So far, he can sit up if he holds himself up with his hands, but I feel like he’s just going to break in half when he does that so we don’t do it for very long.

Kind of like this. Dang, that’s a cute baby. Dillon is cuter, though.

It makes me question his trunk muscles. I know they’re there, I have seen him use them, to bend forward and backwards, but I think they might be a little weak.

He’s not crawling yet, but he gets up on his hands and knees and rocks like nobody’s business.

He gets really excited sometimes.

He gets really excited sometimes.

Yes, that’s a jumperoo in the background, he loves it, but I try not to keep him in there longer than 15 minutes at a time.

20130806-102216.jpg

I know, his hair has a mind of its own.

At 5 and a half months he said “dada” for the first time. Now, he says all kinds of gibberish, mostly “dadadada ahhh yaya tatata” and when he gets upset I hear a “maaa” mixed in with his crying. So, no mama yet, really, but I think he still loves me. He also randomly squeals and laughs, it’s hilarious.

He has been playing this game for a little over a month now, where he’ll look at someone and then smile and hide his face by putting his head down on whoever is holding him and then he’ll look back up and smile again and put his head back down, it’s so beyond cute.

My angel. <3

My angel. ❤

This is his 6-month picture. I'm eventually going to get around to decorating it and printing it and framing it, or I don't know, something like that.

This is his 6-month picture. I’m eventually going to get around to decorating it and printing it and framing it, or I don’t know, something like that. That hair.

I don’t have much else to say. I probably won’t update again until September, unless I just get the urge to brag about my awesome kid again. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

